What I think when you say I haven’t really met Jesus

As someone who transitioned from fundamentalist Christianity to liberal Christianity to humanism, I can relate. It’s infuriating when someone insists that your entire history–and your sincerity–should be completely disregarded.

The Discerning Christian

buddy-christ Jesus approves of this post.

So I get it. You disagree with me about whether I’m a “true” Christian. All my philosophical views and liberal theology rub you the wrong way. I haven’t checked off all the right boxes on your list (infallibility of Scripture, Creationism, so-called “traditional” marriage, etc.). Thus, because I don’t fit inside your concept of what it is to be a Christian, I must never have had a “real” encounter with Jesus. It is then your God-given duty to come down from off your lofty perch to preach the good news of Jesus to me, an apparent godless heathen in disguise.

I’m going to have to stop you right there.

First off, it’s not as though I haven’t heard the gospel a million times. I’m sure atheists in Christian communities feel much the same as I do. Do you suppose that by preaching it to me…

View original post 887 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

